RSS Feed

Fact: Canucks dig lamb.

…I don’t know if that’s true, but this one does. I am sick and tired of these veg [read: vag] recipes, although they have been de-rish-us! Bottom line: time for some animal. Who doesn’t love a little meat now and again? I know I have been MIA on the blog for weeks, maybe even months, but my Vancouver relocation and resulting lack of friends/social life is very conducive to both cooking and blogging. Although, food here costs an arm and a leg and my laptop sucks. But hey, whoever said living in a third world country was easy? For my next pick, I will choose something very meaty despite the fact that Callie and Jenna won’t try it.

Lamb and Eggplant Potpie with Feta Potato Crust

Think of those savory lamb juices bubbling under the browning, feta-laced potato shell. The succulent eggplant (gag) melting into a velvety sauce of tomatoes and “exotic”, aromatic Greek spices. I say “gag” because I am not a huge fan of eggplant, but I will sacrifice in the name of K1B1 and because it will be encased by lamby goodness.

You’re probably thinking oh, shit, this is expensive. But really, the only thing that is expensive is the lamb (but it’s ground, so cheaper vs. a rack of lamb, or something), and the spices, which make me wish I was back in SD so I could steal them from my parents’ pantry. The changing weather (it’s raining here already) makes me want to eat things that are baked and comfort-foody, but since this has vegetables, I don’t have to feel terrible about it. I think I picked a gem! Time to harness your inner Julia Child-on-a-Grecian-vacation, ladies!

Leave a Reply

